Marquez’s Two-Volume Selected Works Out Now

Marquez’s Two-Volume Selected Works Out Now


    The Azerbaijan State Translation Centre (AzSTC) is pleased to announce the release of Selected Works in two volumes, by Gabriel García Márquez, Colombian novelist and one of the greatest writers of the 20th century, who was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982. It is the next edition of a 150-volume series “Pearls of World Literature” in Azerbaijani translation, launched by AzSTC.

    The edition’s first volume, consisting of the chapters – “Stories”, “Novels”, “Conversations, Interviews” - contains the author's famous novel and short story masterpieces, such as The Handsomest Drowned Man in the World, Isabel Watching it Rain in Macondo, The Widow of Montiel, The Third Resignation, Artificial Roses, No One Writes to the Colonel, The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor, Memories of My Melancholy Whores, as well as his interviews and conclusions about literature, art, and life.

    The second volume includes two novels -  The Autumn of the Patriarch and Chronicle of a Death Foretold –  preceded by the foreword The Most Famous Writer in the World who Passed through the Solitude of Latin America, and Venezuelan writer Miguel Otero Silva’s thoughts about Marquez's The Autumn of the Patriarch.

    The translators are the notable writers Ishaq Ibrahimov, Akram Aylisli, Afag Masud, Natig Safarov, Arif Amrahoglu, Saday Budagli, Mahir Garayev, and N. Abdulrahmanli.

    The book was edited by Bahlul Abbasov, with explanations and notes authored by Mahir Garayev. The publisher is AzTC.



You can find copies of the edition at one of the many bookstore locations listed below:




‘Akademiya’ book house


Book house on the premises of the Presidential Administration of the Azerbaijan Republic

Sales kiosk on the premises of the Azerbaijan University of Languages

‘Pero’ book house

‘Oxumalı’ book house

‘Lider’ book house